How to improve your Health

There are many ways for Australians to choose foods that promote their health and wellbeing. The Australian Dietary Guidelines provide recommendations for healthy eating that are realistic and practical.  Most importantly, the recommendations are based on the best available scientific evidence.

The Australian Guide to Healthy Eating covers the 5 food groups and the recommended amounts you should eat every day. These include:

  • plenty of vegetables, including different types and colours, and legumes/beans
  • fruit
  • grain (cereal) foods, mostly wholegrain and/or high cereal fibre varieties, such as breads, cereals, rice, pasta, noodles, polenta, couscous, oats, quinoa and barley
  • lean meats and poultry, fish, eggs, tofu, nuts and seeds, and legumes/beans
  • milk yoghurt, cheese and/or their alternatives

Health eating habits include:

  • being physically active and choosing amounts of nutritious food and drinks to meet your energy needs
  • enjoying a wide variety of nutritious foods
  • drinking plenty of water
  • limiting intake of foods containing saturated fat, added salt and added sugars such as biscuits, cakes, pastries, pies, processed meats, commercial burgers, pizza, fried foods, potato chips, crisps and other sugary or savoury snacks
  • limiting intake of alcohol
  • caring for your food — preparing and storing it safely

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *